Bookish Scenarios Tag

Hello readers!

Today will be a book tag that I found on Youtube created by the lovely Lindsayheartbooks. As the title would suggest, this tag consists of 7 not so easy scenarios all involving books. Let’s hope I can do this.

1. You have to get rid of all your books and you can only keep one from each of these genres – contemporary, fantasy, non-fiction and one other genre of your choosing. What books do you keep?

  • Contemporary: Just One Day by Gayle Forman. I loved that book when I first read it, and it instilled the travel bug in me.
  • Fantasy: Harry Potter. Classic.
  • Non-Fiction: Show Me a Hero by Lisa Belkin, only because I have to write a paper on it. (Practical right?)
  • Romance: On Dublin Street by Samantha Young. I haven’t read it yet but it seems to be well-received on the Internet.

2. You’re at the bookstore and you hear a teenager telling their mom they don’t like to read, but their mom insists they pick something. You walk over and recommend a book you think is great for people who aren’t big on reading – what book is it?

This one is really hard because it all depends on what people are interested in…so I guess I’ll go with Divergent by Veronica Roth. The book is good for beginners because it has a little bit of everything in it…a ton of action, a little bit of romance but not too much that it dominates the plot, good family and friendships ties. Would definitely recommend.

3. You’re not feeling yourself and need a pick-me-up. Which book do you read to put yourself in a better mood?

If we’re going the published route, then it’s the Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants series by Ann Brashares. Except the very last book in the series that is marketed as an adult book, Sisterhood Everlasting. That’s not a very happy book.

4. You go back in time for a day to your teenage years. What book would you most likely have caught yourself reading?

In my early teenage years I was very much into reading the Marked series by P.C. & Kristin Cast and pretty much loved every book.

I was also really into fanfiction for the latter half of my teenage years. One Direction fanfiction of course. There was a year or two where I would be staying up all night to read them and saved hundreds of them on my Wattpad account to read at a later time. There’s a few fanfics that I still read now when I have time to go onto Wattpad.

5. Your friend surprises you with a 4 day trip and you have 1 hour to pack. Which book do you bring to read on the way?

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins only because I have to read it for my book club and I haven’t started it yet…shh don’t tell anyone.

6. Your house has been robbed! Don’t worry – everyone is safe, but your bookshelf has been raided. What’s the book you really hope is safe?

Hunted by P.C. and Kristin Cast…I got it signed with a bunch of friends and that book is attached to so many memories of my time back then. For example, the thing with the vampires in this series is that they have markings all over their faces indicating that they are vampires. The look of these markings depend on the personality of the person. It just so happened P.C. and Kristin came to a book signing in my town and a lot of my friends who read and enjoyed the series were going. Therefore, at the end of the day at school, we all drew markings on our foreheads and wore them to the book signing. I wish I had a picture of it to show you guys.

7. Your friend borrows a book and returns it in awful condition. Do you a) Just pretend you haven’t noticed b) Ask them to repurchase it or c) Secretly do the same to something of theirs.

I would probably say A “just pretend you haven’t noticed” but then mentally think that I would probably never let them borrow a book from me again. Then throw out the book and purchase a new copy if it was one of my all-time favourites.

Leave a Reply

